Final Project

Diana Bloom
1 min readApr 26, 2021

--

For my final project I was inspired by the word clouds in the “What’s Behind Door Number 10101?” assignment. Something I’m very interested in is theatre and Broadway, and I wanted to create a word cloud about how covid has affected Broadway and the theatre industry. I collected about 20 articles I found regarding the shutdown of Broadway, covid concerns, and how this will affect Broadway when it eventually comes back.

The most common words are the biggest in the word cloud, and as expected they include words like Broadway, pandemic, performances, shows, and New York. Theatre is my major and something I’m very passionate about, so this past year without it has been very difficult. Something I noticed from the word cloud was that the word “postponed” was much bigger and more noticeable than the word “cancelled”. It’s been hard to remember that this is not a permanent situation, and things will go back to normal eventually. But seeing it laid out on a physical word cloud reminded me that “normal life” has only been postponed, not cancelled.

--

--